The Windward and Leeward Islands are groups of islands comprising the Lesser Antilles in the Caribbean. The majority of the islands are small and uninhabited while the larges ones have become sovereign countries. Major islands in this area, a number of them are independent countries while in some instances two islands may be governed as a single country.

The Windward Islands include the southeastern islands of the Caribbean. They’re called the Windward Islands because they are exposed to the wind of the northeast trade winds from the Atlantic Ocean.

Between the islands of the Greater Antilles and those of the Windward Islands are the Leeward Islands. Mostly small islands, they are called the Leeward Islands because they are away from the wind.