The Cayman Islands is an autonomous British Overseas Territory in the western Caribbean Sea. Considered to be part of the geographic Western Caribbean Zone as well as the Greater Antilles. The Cayman Islands has a tropical wet and dry climate, with a dry season that runs from November to April. A pleasant tropical climate is one of the territory’s main assets, tourism being of primary importance to the economy. Although the island has close historical and political connections to the United Kingdom, the culture and lifestyle of the Cayman Islands are strongly Americanized.